Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

In this fast-paced world, the high educational institutions are faced with increasing problems more than ever. Among those problems, there is one that most students and institutions would pay attention with: Should the educational institution shoulder the obligation to set the requirement by which institutions could refuse those students not good enough? To some extent, it does make sense since it could indirectly enable unqualified students to find the appropriate field. However, it should be constrained within a reasonable range.

The educational institutions, such as universities, definitely should have the responsibility to guide the students' direction to a certain degree, which is the social responsibility of educators. In fact, universities in the USA do make attempt to guild their students by the course structure. In the first two years of USA university, for the required courses, most students are only allowed to select common foundational courses in different major. At the same time, students have a great number of elective courses in different fields and majors, helping them find the majors they are really interested in and major transfers are common and convenient. By this course structure, students could find their desired major and universities fulfill their social responsibility as guide the students.

Nevertheless, the definition of success is hard to judge, making leaving the decision to students the best choice. The baseline for success is sometimes ambitious and the key factor to success is hard to value. For instance, the interest and passion for the particular field could be the most contributing factor. According to a survey conducted in China by the HZNU, among those top students in the different major, 50% of them claim that the interest is the key supporting factor. Additionally, following panel study reveal that students motivated by interests have comparatively higher average salary and position compared to other students, indicating the interest is an important boosting factor in their career. In this sense, it should be left to the student to make the decision of the suitable field.

Still, the appropriate guidance from an educational institution is essential to students. There are several situations could lead the student to the wrong field and waste their time and tuition. The impression from the outsider to a particular major, for instance, could be misleading. In China, Millions of students enter the medicine major with the dream of being a lifesaver. However, a considerable number of those students transferred to other majors in 2 years due to heavy academic pressure and bad working environment. In order to prevent such things, the educational institution truly should shoulder the responsibility to let students know the situation of a major prior to their admission.

To sum up, the educational institution should be in charge of the commitment to preclude students from choosing the improper major by introducing all the potentially appropriate fields to students and left the decision to students themselves. In this way, students could choose the right major and have a better career.