Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in sponsoring arts than in athletics (like state Olympics team).

In the modern era, the government funding is common in different fields. It is debated that whether the government should invest the art field or support the athletics. From my perspective, although the art is important for the public, the government should pay more attention to the prosperity of the athletic field.

Firstly, the art does play an essential role in modern citizen's life in various aspects. The art, including the instruments, the painting, the photography and even the game, which recently is recognized as the ninth art, forms a base part in public' leisure activities. Therefore, the government should fund the art industry as a public welfare. In China, for example, all museum is funded by the government and all free opened to the public. People like to visit those places as a leisure activity on the weekend with their kids. Additionally, visiting museum could also inspire the student to find the field they are interested in, which produce the positive effect on their career. Therefore, the government should fund the art.

However, the athletics are no less important than the art and the government funding are more critical to the athletics than the arts. First, training athletics need a great amount of money which cannot be afforded by an ordinary family. Since the training position, the diet plan and the salary of supporting stuff are all expensive, the funding of government is necessary. The athletics, in turn, would bring back honor for their country in the international competition which could be an important indicator of a nation's comprehensive ability.

Although the art is important to a nation, the government should still fund the sports field since the government investment could be risky for the integrity of the art. The government investment, in the final, would have a selecting system to decide which artist should be funded, which might cause many impoverished artists to change their style to ingratiate the government standard. In the long run, the government fundings can be hardly called beneficial to the art field.

To sum up, despite the importance of the art, the government should still mainly invest the athletic field, since the athletic field is more dependent on the external funding and an important indicator to the comprehensive power of a nation.