Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take

In the modern time, the importance of the education is increasing, while the university education enables students to have a promising future, whether those students who are admitted by the university yet cannot pay their tuition should be given free education by the government has become a question. From my perspective, the government should not offer the free access to universities for poor students. Meanwhile, those impoverished students should receive some help from the government.

First, It is not realistic for the government to offer the free university education to all the students who cannot afford their tuition. There are a considerable number of other things should be prior to helping the poor students such as the basic facilities, constructing public transportations and establishing public medicare which all need fundings from the government. For the government, the public's basic demanding should be considered first compared to the demand of individuals. It is not reasonable to ignore the basic need of the works who live in fairly low material living condition and turn to use a great amount of government budget to help the poor student to continue their education.

Second, the government does have the obligation to help students who cannot afford their tuitions since the right of being equally educated are the essential part of the social contract between the government and the public. If students meet the requirement of universities but lack of tuitions, the government should help. In effect, the funding for impoverished students is common in countries all over the world. In China, for instance, there are scholarships and profit-free loans for students who cannot afford their tuition. Additionally, the admission of universities usually would provide poor students with part-time jobs, and wages could be used as the daily expense. The government should view helping the poor student as one of their social commitments and there are plenty of precedents in the world.

Finally, if the government does offer the free education to all the students who cannot pay their tuition, it could be unfair to the student who paid the tuition by their own effort. To make things worse, the easy access could intrigue more poor students to enter the university, causing the government budget for their education to increase, and a doom circle is formed.

To sum up, the government should not offer the free university education since there is more public demand should be taken into account first. The government should, however, offer helps like the scholarship or the profit-free loans to the student who cannot afford their tuition.