Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

In this technology-based society, the development of science has already become one of the most frequent topics. Most people believe that the regulation to the science research from government is necessary for the consideration in various aspects. From my perspective, however, while admitting the necessity of government regulation to the research, I believe those constraints should only be established in order to prevent some problems which would cause the great impact to the whole society.

The constraint on the research do make sense to some extant since a considerable of problems would occur without the proper supervision from the government. The power of technology can be dangerous in some specific situations. The clone technology, for instance, could incur great social controversies if it was applied to clone the human for some medical use such as offering health organs for dying patients. Besides those classical problems happened in the science fiction novels, another biological technology,the famous genetic technology, has already caused detectable changes in the natural environment. Namely several artificially changed genetic order of the maize has been detected in the several wild species, meaning the possible genetic pollution. In this cases, human race should be wary about the potential dangerous effect of researches in several field and formulate regulation in those field to preclude possible disasters.

Nevertheless, adding excessive regulation to the research is another radicalism. The science history in the middle age has already reveals the negative effect caused by the blunt restriction to the science from the religion and authority. Another example is the China. Instead of paying attention to the science, people in power in each dynasty of China pursue to solid their dominance, which might accounts why while there are so many discovery can be traced back to the China, like the first use of oil, China still remain low technology power before the World War I. Consequently, the excessive regulation could press the science from developing.

Finally, taking all the advantages and disadvantages into consideration, the mild method is press the harmful side of the research without suppressing the development of science is to establish a commitee formed by the leading experts from different academic areas to access the risk of researches in the different field, and publish the appropriate rules to eliminate the possibility of the negative effect caused by unsupervised risky researches.

To wrap it up, we should add as few as regulation to the research while keeping an eye on the potential threat from several dangerous researches in special fields. Several research in specific field could pose great threat to the wild animal and biological diversity, so they should be restricted until their harmlessness can be guaranteed. In order to make the reasonable regulations, we should found a commitee formed by the cutting-edge experts to discuss and formulate those rules.