Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

In the modern society, the function of education is increasingly concerned. While I agree that formal education truly restricts youngsters mind to some extent, the benefits of traditional education also exist in many aspects.

It's true that education restrains students mind to some degree. Firstly, from elementary school to college, some subjects contains enormous knowledge to memorize. Those memorization occupies considerable time, and thus there a limited time left for students to creative and relax. To illustrate, the majority of college students in Chinese must have suffered from high educational school entrance exam, which requires students' command of detailed knowledge in several subjects. Therefore, Chinese students are short of critical thinking ability, which is crucial in future career and one's own development. Moreover, formal education tends to unify individuals, which might be harmful to diversity. For instance, in China, students in school are supposed to wear the school uniform, which, according to teachers, presents the equity of the classmates. However, these atmosphere are likely affect individual and cause one's fear of being different with others, eliminating diversity and damaging ones potential. Finally, sometimes formal education might be politics-oriented. It can reals from politics subject in the high school of some countries, both developing countries as China and developed countries as Japan.

Although formal education has constraint on students critical thinking and diversity, the benefit it brings slightly overcomes it disadvantages. Firstly, formal educations act as a stepping stone to higher education and sophisticated knowledge. These facts learned from formal education play a necessary role for farther study, such as Newton’s law of gravitation, basic body structure in biology, and fundamental tools and concept of mathematic. To illustrate, these theory and fact might outdated or disputed by new theories and research in their field, but it offers a basic theoretical framework for students to understand, helping students to find the discipline they really interested in. Secondly, some subjects demands and encourages students to thinking creatively, like art, literature, and computer programming. As a student major in computer programming, I have to admit that while the mathematic and understand of different software is essential to a programmer, the ability of creative thinking decides the upper bound a programmer can reach. The computer language just offers feature and tool but not instruct one how to design a program. Therefore creative ability is needed in order to design one’s own work.

To sum up, I concede that traditional education limits youngsters’ minds in some aspects to a certain degree, nevertheless the traditional education has more advantages than its negative effects.