TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

The ability to make new friends is important to an individual, since human are social animals, and any individual could not live without interaction with the society. However, the long lasted friendship could bring more happiness than the ability to socialize could.

Firstly, people tend to have more common topics with their old friends instead of new friends. When I and my old friends are together, we always could talk about interesting things happened in the past. For instance, last week, I met with my high school classmates and we talked about the basketball competition with another class in the school. Although we finally lost that match, it is hard to forget that feeling when we fight together. However, There could hardly be such topics with new friends. Given that talking about the old things could largely increase the enjoyment of the meeting, It could bring more happiness to be with old friends instead of meeting new friends.

Moreover, old friends mean higher loyalty. As an old saying goes:"a friend in need is a friend indeed", the help from friends when you are in trouble could be a great relief, and old friends could choose to stand by your side in any time. My uncle tried to establish his own company when he was about to graduate from the university and invited several his old friends as a co-founder. They made a success in the beginning and my uncle met several new friends to invest in his company. However, due to that famous economic crisis in 2008, the company was bankrupted. Those new friends suddenly disappeared after they sold their shares while the old friends of my uncle continued to support him. In the most situation, the old friends are more reliable. Therefore, the ability to maintain the relationship with old friends could certainly bring more happiness.

It is true that the ability to meet new friends important since human are social animals and sometimes new friends mean new opportunities. However, without the ability to maintain friendships, making friends is meaningless since there would be low or no returns for the time you spent on socializing if you do not have loyal allies and those opportunities brought by so-called new friends could be the fraud.

To sum up, the abilities of maintaining the friendship is much essential compared to the ability to make new friends. The same experience and loyalty of old friends could bring more happiness to one's life.