Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

Students should have complete right to choose which career path they want based on their interests and passion. If a particular career is unlikely to succeed then it should be up to student that what he or she has to do with it. If he or she is completely passionate and interested about the career that they have chosen then there is no way stopping him or her from succeeding.

Let’s say a field of study which is tough to succeed like, paleontology. A student who is interested in dinosaurs and wants to study them would choose to pursue their career in paleontology. But, paleontology is tough career to grow in. The student has to go through the archaic data and thesis. If the student is really passionate then he or she succeed in this field by giving a thesis on dinosaurs or let the public know what dinosaurs on how exactly dinosaurs lived. Or a student who is interested in art or acting which is not a relatively easy field to succeed, will be succeeded when they do the hard work and focus on their career properly. If these students who are interested in a field which is unlikely to succeed are dissuaded and forced to choose some other field which would be easier to succeed will be helpful to the students and there would be a high chance that they might not succeed.

There are some positive points by guiding the student to take the right career path. Educational institutions can shape the student’s path by guiding them which is the better way to succeed in life. If the student is performing not that well in the field which is unlikely to succeed then the institution can educate the students to take the right path.

Educational institution’s job is to shape the student in his or her best form and show a clear path to the student’s interests and passion. Students are ones who decide which path to choose based on their passion and interests and institution should guide them accordingly. Therefore, I disagree that educational institutions should dissuade the students from pursuing the fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.