Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

Resources for people in their countries are increasing these days. People are getting enough resources even though they are not employed. Like, in Canada even you don't have any job the government will give the citizen a basic amount of money for living. There are still some people who beg these days. Many people think that we should help the beggars. That would be the right thing to do. But, personally I think giving money to beggars is not a good thing to do.

First of all, why do people beg for money? To get the basic needs like, food and shelter. There are many shelter places in a city provided by the government and these beggars can go there and stay. For example, there is a shelter in my town which provides living area to the poor and also provide food to them, but still I can see that the shelter is half empty. There are some big companies who donate money to these shelters. Still poor people don't use these privileges provided to them by the government.

Secondly, people who beg can find a job instead. Most of them would be uneducated, but there are some jobs which include only physical work. I saw a person who do not have any physical disability was begging for money. Instead of begging he can go to some companies which include man power, like lifting goods. Getting a job is way better than begging.

Third, we should not encourage the beggars. This would only increase their laziness. They would think that, “if I get some money which will cover my food charges then I don't have to work anymore”. So, by discouraging the beggars and not giving money to them will make them think and look for work which will help them to improve in their life and a better future.

There are some people who still think giving money to the beggar is the right thing to do. But, I think these actions of beggars has to be refuted. This would make more energetic and they can use the shelters provided by the government efficiently and they can count on to their better future. If not giving money to the beggars continue, I think this would increase the societies’ value as well as the people who are changing.