"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following argument has a conclusion that is made without taking some questions into consideration. Primarily, the argument is mainly focusing on skateboarders, rendering its main conclusion that prohibiting skateboarders in central plaza would return to its previously high levels, not perfectly backed up.

The argument fails to provide that the reason for dramatic surge in skateboarding. It could be also possible that since people stopped coming to the plaza that's why skateboarders came because there is freer space as people are less. The first question to consider is that why skateboarders started coming to plaza at the first place. Is it because of less security at the plaza or the space started to free up because there is a decrease in the buyers in plaza.

Another question that should be answered before coming to such conclusion is that, is there any other reason why people stopped coming to plaza other than skateboarding. Maybe, the prices of the products in the plaza stores have been increased recently and people are going to malls rather than coming to plaza as they are getting the same products for lower price. This point also weighs in to determining the conclusion of this passage.

The reason for littering and vandalism is also not taken into account in the argument. The question to raise is why there is surge in littering and vandalism in plaza at the first place. This could again go back to the point of lesser security maybe, or sneaking into the plaza is easier and vandals found a way to sneak into the plaza and destroying it.

So, answering the questions explained above should come to a place that the prohibition skateboarders would solve everything or not. If skateboarders are the one who are littering and destroying the place and there is no surge in the prices of the products that are sold in the plaza. Finally, the security also takes care of these vandals and littering fine. If all of these problems are solved in this way then the conclusion for this argument would result positively as expected.