TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

In the modern time, different events happen in the world, from the war in the middle east to the bullying in the US schools. Many people hold the view that there is no need for us to know those things which could have little impact on our life. In the contrast, from my perspective, I strongly hold the counterargument that we should know those things even if it seems unrelated with us.

To begin with, the first reason is that knowing those event could help someone to deal with some similar situations in the future. People grows based on their past experience. To illustrate this idea, I would like to mentions the post in the Weibo, one of social website just like Facebook in USA. There are plenty of quarrels of couples in my timeline, usually posted by my friends. It seems can be hardly related to me since I do not like to gossip about other's private life. However, I still like to read those details and analyze it, because I also have a girlfriend. By learning the reason and the solution of those conflicts between couples, I could solve or avoid those disharmony between me and my girlfriends in the future. In this case, we could still learn something from those event having no impact on my life.

Another reason to endorse my view is that in the information age, the ability to get and analyze information is important for an individual. To be specific, the reason lies in the fact that by knowing those event and analyze the rules behind it, one would always find something useful. The discover the gravity, for instance, could be an example. It is said that one day, when Newton was standing under a apple tree, he was hit by a falling apple, which inspired him to find the gravity. Whether it is true or not, it still can tell as that something unlikely to affect our life, just as the apple which would fall to the ground like everything in the earth, could help us to find some interesting even important things behind it. Consequently, I would like to support that we should know those things which seems unimportant to our daily life.

It is partially reasonable that we do not need to know something unimportant. However, it is based on a unwarranted basement that we have already know that it is important. In effect, just as that old saying goes, life is like a box of chocolate, you never know what you will get. When the economical crisis happened in wall street, there are still many people did not believe that it would influence the whole world in the following years.

To sum up, it can be hard to definitely claim that, especially in the real world where there are various complicated situations. Nevertheless, after contemplation, I would uphold the point of view that it is important to know those trivial which seems unrelated to us.