In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This argument is well presented yet far-fetched. It lays a claim that because the second finding is not the same as first, the first research must be wrong. Nevertheless, due to several flaws after scrutiny, the argument has to establish some piece of evidence to make the statement more convincing.

First of all, a problem arises in the argument is that the first research does not show information on how many respondents they get on this research. This contention is open to a number of interpretations. Perhaps, the research does not have any incorrect, but the numbers of the respondents are not enough so that they cannot represent the whole group of citizens in Waymarsh. Alternatively, again, maybe the research is not wrong, but the age scope on their research respondents is too small, or cannot represent the people in Waymarsh. Hence, without accounting for and ruling out other likely explanations, by no means the author contends that the wrong of the research can be conducted by the second purport.

In addition, another question is the investigation in the library does not consist with the first research. It may be right the most frequently books are not literary classics, but it is entirely possible that many citizens have already read all literary classics and therefore want to find something different reading materials, so the library's checking rate is not the same as the first study. Also, does the checking rate in the library can represent the all Waymarsh's people? In order to confirm his point of view, the writer should pay close heed to as well as address the representative probabilities mention above. Only specific researches data on both studies are the key to bolstering his advice.

Ultimately, even if the previous assumptions might turn out to be supported by subsequently detailed illustration, a crucial problem remains that is the second research can explain the first research? It is reasonable to cast doubts upon presumption which made by the author because presumption actually is inadequate in that the second might not explain the whole first research, or the library's study only is a part of the study in the first part. Just like the previous discussions above, the author does not provide any information about the association between the two studies, only indicating the difference in reading frequency. Pursuing this reasoning proves that the author has the responsibility to carefully consider his assumptions and then provide cogent evidence to pave the way for a more reliable argument.

In hindsight, it seems precipitous for the writer to make the summary based on a sequence of problematic premises. To eliminate the implausibility of conclusion, the author must offer the more specific evidence mentioned on the above.