In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the two studies conducted on the Waymarsh citizens concluded that respondents of the first study misrepresented their reading habits. This conclusion is based on the assumption that as first study stated that most of the respondents are preferring classics but the most checked book in the public libraries is mystery novels. However, as more light is shed on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned, lack of answers through the argument leads me to question its validity.

First of all, how accurate are both the studies? It can be possible that first study is mostly for the people who were interested in the classics which lead to the common answer as classic literacy. IF the above mentioned assumption is true, then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, how is checking a book resembles preference on that book? It can be possible that just because the cover of the book is attractive, people tend to check that book and read the first page of the book. They might found that interesting and read that novel. If the above mentioned assumption is merit, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, does having a preference means tendency to read the same genre of the book. Maybe a new book is released and eventually became a hit so that people are after it. Perhaps, the ratings were so good that it became a must read and book lovers are attracted to buy it. If the above mentioned assumption is true, then the argument cannot be strengthened.

To conclude, the argument, as stands as of now, is considerably flawed. However, if more evidence and answers to the above mentioned questions are offered, then argument can be possibly evaluated.