In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

The author of this argument claims that first study’ result, which claims most people like literary classics, is wrong. To justify his recommendation, the author cites the following facts. Based upon the second research which indicates that most frequently books were checked of public libraries was the mystery novel. In this way, the people who took part in the first study can not be representative reading preference.

First, a serious of problems with the argument arises from the scant statistical information on which it relies. The author provides no data about the number of respondents, their occupation, or even their age. If the survey’s respondents are not representative of the allover population of general people, the author can not rely on it. Moreover, if the number of people, who took part in the second survey, was too low to ensure that results of first research are false. Since, the author provides no more information about two types of research, I can not take the author’ final conclusion seriously.

Second, the author should answer this question that whether these two kinds of research are done in the same time. Perhaps, the first study is related on ten years ago, when people live in the different condition, and the second survey is done contemporary.

In third place, base on the fact that people borrow most mystery books, the author infers that people like this kind of books. However, it is not necessarily the case. It is quite possible that the public libraries have not literary classics, and people have to choose another book for reading. In addition, people who like literary classic may tend to purchase these books instead of going to the library for read them. Without considering this possible scenario, the author cannot justifiably conclude that people like to read mystery books.

To sum up, the arguments is logically flowed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the recommendation, the speaker must provide clear evidence that survey reflects all general population. In order to evaluate better the conclusion, we would need more information about all the possible causes of people check out most mystery books from libraries.