SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above argument presents the scenario of the liking of the employees SuperCorp as far as their location preferences for residential and business purposes are concerned. Earlier, the headoffice of Supercorp was in Middleburg region but now they felt tempted to get it transferred to Corporateville due to various factors like low rate of taxes, not being so urban and attaining more of homeowners than the previous times. On the surface level, the whole argument seems accurate but a deeper scrutiny presents a clearer picture that restricts us to call this change in location of Supercorp as the best decision.

First of all, an increase in number of homeowners in Corporateville doesn't necessarily means it is better place than Middlesburg. There might be possibility that people feel enthralled to invest there initially but Middlesburg is older region, it might be providing more of facilities like shopping-malls, entertainment facility of theatres etc. that are more crucial for a normal life. In this reagrd, no data have been mentioned that how many new people have started to reside in Corporateville. Till the same some statistical figure is given, we can't compare the people preference among two places.

Secondly, it has been given that people want to live in not so urban area. How can Supercorp refute the fact, that being more rusty and parochial region Corporateville bucolic beauty might be tempting the old people to stay there as they need peace and enjoy the beauty of nature far from the tantrums of urban life? Moreover an employee survey has been mentioned but no exact figure has been given that how many of employees wanted to stay in Corporateville. Also if a place is liked by people that don’t assure that it will act as a best place for the official purposes.

Last but not the least, tax rates of two places has been offered but less of tax rates doesn't necessarily ascertains that Corporateville will be cheaper place than Middlesburg. How can one ignore that Middlesburg be at the plain region but Corporateville being far from urban region be located at hilly region that involves high-cost of transportation and thus leads to hike in the retail prices, in spite of lower taxes. Thus, combining these two factors and ignoring the other related components make the conclusion flimsy and vague.

To sum up, the complete argument lacks firm grounding due to lack of apt evidences and wrong hypothesis. Had the knowledge been collected about the population demographic characteristics, comparison been made on the amenities provided as well as geographical location of both places be studied, the results would have been firm and sturdy.