In surveys Mason City residents rank water sport (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational activities. For years there have been complaints about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to cleaning up Mason River. Use of the river for water sport is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational activities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author states that In Manson city, the residents like to have water sports as favorite recreational activities, But the river is rarely used for such pursuits, and Government has devoted small amount of budget for the maintenance process. The author believes that if the Manson river is clean up it will surely increase the water sport activities, and for that purpose Government should devote more budget for riverside recreational facilities. The author's conclusion about the cleaning river and increasing the budget for the process is seems to be logical and fruitful at first glance.

The author make valid assumptions that might be true if all of its premises were correct and exhaustive; However, His conclusion, is based on the assumptions having no clear evidence and employs the terms lacking clear evidence. Therefore, author's conclusion is not logically convincing.

Firstly, The author assumes that, the residents of the Mason City would like to spend their money and time on their nearby river. The author failed to think about the environment, what if the residents like to spend their sporting time somewhere in peaceful environment, what if the survey conducted was about the game that played in beach area? There is no guarantee that the resident will like to play water sport in riverside near city. The author failed to notice this point.

Secondly, the author's plan about making nearby river clean and use it for sport purpose is seems too Immature, What if government is planing something else ? what if Government is planing to clean the river to make the water for drinking propose ? The author failed to think about the probable ideas, what if government and public thinks, if the river is made sporting are, it will not impure the water more ? The author seems to forget about these things.

Finally, the author assumes that government have that much fund to invest on such unnecessary idea, he forget to think about other problems in society, there is no clear evidence showing the society is fully developed and government should invest money on entertainment projects.

In summary, the author decision is rife with flaws and holes that seemingly impugn its validity. Afterall the author's decision is not wrong, but as long as it rational, His ought to have full knowledge of all the contributing factors and must submit more conclusive evidence to make the argument wise and profitable. Without doing this, the conclusion is insubstantial & open to debate.