In surveys Mason city residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, fising) among their favorite recreational activities. The mason river flowing through this city is rarely used for these pursuits, however and the city devotes less of its budget to maintaining the recreational facilities

For years there have been complaints from residence about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason river. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

This argument posits that if more money is allocated to riverside recreational facilities, then more people will participate in water sports on the Mason River. It is possible that people may use the river for water sports, however this argument does not prove it without a doubt. There are a number of questions that need to be answered in order for this assumption to be accepted.

The first question is why people aren’t using the river for water sports. This argument assumes that it is because of the derelict recreational facilities and the dirty river. However, there are a number of other possibilities. Perhaps the current is too swift, making it a danger for swimming and a poor spot for fishing. It’s possible that there are other nearby lakes or rivers that are safer, cleaner, bigger, more well-stocked with fish, or in another way superior. Is this particular river spring-fed, making it frigid even in summer? If any of those are the case, then any improvement in facilities will probably not merit an great increase in swimming, fishing, or boating.

The second assumption with faults is the idea that the smelly river is the main problem and that it can be cleaned. There is no mention of how many complaints are received about this specific topic. Could it be the same four people complaining every year? Also, to say the river “smells” is a strange complaint. It’s possible that the river contains sulfer or other mineral deposits meaning that the smell is permanent and it would be unwise to try to change the natural chemical makeup of the water. It’s possible that the smell is permanent. It’s also possible that even if pollution is causing the smell and the smell can be removed that there will be no change in usage.

The final point is that it’s possible that an increase in budget will not affect the river usage at all. Even simple repairs to a small parking lot and restroom facility can be incredibly expensive. Exactly how much money is needed and what it will be used for is necessary. Then the question is, “will this budget increase need to be a yearly thing?” Or is it a one-time charge?

All of these questions need to be answered in other for the assumption that people will use the Mason River for water sports to be accepted.