In surveys Mason city residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, fising) among their favorite recreational activities. The mason river flowing through this city is rarely used for these pursuits, however and the city devotes less of its budget to mai

The authors conclude that the city government should invest more money in riverside recreational facilities. For supporting the argument, the authers makesvery interesting reasoning, but it still contains some loopholes which need to be address before moving ahead on above conclusion.

Firstly, for supporting the assertion, the author provides survey data. The survey data does not contains the adequate information about the survey. The survey data depends upon various factors such as sample size of the survey, exact location of the survey, exact timing of the survey, and main objective of the survey. Main objective of a survey plays important role. It decides questions of a survey. If a survey is related to outdoor activities and options provided are unknown to the people then the outcome will be different. If you asked people about favourate mode of transport and provided options such as car, bus, and train, and people selected train that does not mean people to not like to fly. Therefore, survey objectives and related question structure plays important role in the survey. Hence , for accurate information about survey, knowledge related sample size, location, questions is required.

Furthermore, the author also concludes that more money should be invested in the riverside recreational facilities, but he never mentions about finicial condition the state. If the state government do not have ability to fund such expensive projects then state government can not allot money for above project. Before making such comments, the author should evaluate the finicial condition of the state government. Additionally, the author must mention about other priorities of the state governments such as new school building or new hospital building which are necessities for citizens. Thus, information about key factors of the state government such as finicial condition and other priorities is required before evaluating the argument.

In conclusion, after studing the arguments from all the angles, more evidence related to state government current situation and addional information about survey is required to make above argument cogent.