In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports

(swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite

recreational activities. The Mason River flowing

through the city is rarely used for these pursuits,

however, and the city park department devotes little of

its budget to maintaining riverside recreational

facilities. For years there have been complaints from

residents about the quality of the river's water and the

river's smell. In response, the state has recently

announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the

river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The

city government should for that reason devote more

money in this year's budget to riverside recreational

facilities.

The argument states that the Mason City should increase the money to clean up the Mason River and make more water recreational activities. However, to make this claim more convincing, the author should elaborate the assumption to strengthen the article.

The survey of the argument says many residents like water sports as their recreational activities. However, the author didn't indicate that who makes this survey and where is the survey from. It might be only one hundred people investigated in that survey to support the author's claim or the company of water activities' facilities hired people to write the surveys to support the claim. If the above assumption is true, the survey will not useful to support the government to increase the money to elaborate water activities.

Even if the survey is credibly and is not doubtful absolutely. The smell might not from the Mason River so complaints from residents might not be true. The smell might from the ditch or the garbage, thrown by residents, has the stinky smell. Those assumptions all need to be support to make the claim more convincing that the author needs to elaborate more evidence to strength the arguments such as the government should let the professional to see if the smell is truely from the river, also hired the chemical professional to search the data of the river to see if the data is in standard or not. If the data is out of the standard, the government must increases the money to improve the river. By contrast, if the data is in the standard and the smell is not from the river that the government won't increase the money to improve the river.

Therefore, the recreational activities must spend a lot of money to elaborate, also the costs of maintaining facilities still needs myriads of money that the city should discuss and make the right decision. Since the city needs to evaluate whether the activity on the Mason River would increase their visitors or not, also, the city needs to consider whether the river will be frozen or not. If the Mason River always frozen during the winter, the money to held recreational facilities may not useful.

The author's perspective may be plausible. None of the assumptions, however, necessarily entails of the conclusion. Therefore, the author needs to address the above assumptions to reinforce the claim to make the article more convincing.