In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that that cleaning up the Mason River will surely increase its use for recreational activities.He provides several evidences such as, in various suverys the city's residents have ranked water sports among their favourite recreational activities or have given many complaints about the smell of the river.Although the cited evidences seem logical and probable, but the assumptions on which the conclusion relies does not lend credible support to the argument.Hence the argument seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly,the author assumes that most of the city's residents take part in various water sports because they have ranked it as their favorite recreational activity.However, the assumption seems irrelevant to the conclusion.It may happen that the residents love to watch various water sports activities, but do not find any interest in being a part of these activities.The author also fails to mention the preferences of the citizens for the water sports over any other activity.Maybe the city has more race tracks and hence the citizens prefer horse riding or in general in land sport over water sports.Further was the survey conducted representative enough? For instance,was it taking into account all the citizens of Mason city or was it focussing only on the citizens who live nearby the river.Thus dues to unrepresentative,small and biased surveys the arguement could be considerably weakened.Thus in order to strengthen the argument, the author should atleast acknowledege the above mention points as well as provide additional and precise information about the survey conducted otherwise the purpose of the argument would be undermined.

In addition to this the author assumes that since the citizens have given many complaints about the smell of the river, therefore this maybe the primary factor responsible for the lack of river's usage.But there maybe other factos that could be attributed to this problem.For exmaple it may happen that the flow of river has increased tremendously and hence the citiznes do not find it safe to either swim or do boating in the river.Further there maybe scanty amount of fishes availaible in the river and hence people have lost their zeal in fishing.Thus dedicating a huge amount of budget for maintaining riverside recreational facilities will be of no use and would go waste.Futher even if it assumed that the smell of the river is the cause for the lack of river's usage then how can it be guaranteed that cleaning up the river is going to help get rid of the smell.It may happen that the smell is originating from some type of mineral present deep inside the river and which cannot be removed because it is beneficial for the health and well being of the aquatic life.Without acknowleding these trivial byt significant aspects,the argument seems misleading.

To sum up,the argument consists of certain obvious fallacies and loopholes.To bolster the argument,the author should have provided more information about the type of survey conducted and its representiveness or, maybe what other factors could be responsible for the lack of the river's usage.However, in the absence of this data, the argument is based on certain doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands.