In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Here in the given statement, it has been asked by the government to spend more money from the yearly budget on the riverside recreational facilities. If we go through the given statements we find the conclusion relevant but if we dig deeper into the cause then we may final several flaws and it would not be justifiable to allocate funds to riverside recreational facilites.

Firstly in the given statement, it has been stated that on some surveys the mason city residents rank water sports as their favorite activities but here we don't have any detail about the survey. No one is sure about the authenticity of the survey whether it was real or paid. So on based on the given flaw in the statement we can rely on the survey.

Secondly, it has been mentioned that already the city park department is spending money on maintaining the riverside recreational facilities and still there have been not many water sports activities are taking place, so it would be a wastage of money if the government spends extra money without knowing the real reason why the people are not interested in taking part in water sports activities.

Thirdly it has been stated that there is a foul smell comes to the river which is not acceptable by the residents and they have logged several complaints regarding the smell and quality of the river's water; here the main area of discussion is whether the several complaints have been filed by a couple of residents or many residents have complaints regarding the smell and quality of water.

If we go through the above points and think on the open question the for sure it would not be advisable to grant more money from the year's budget to riverside recreational facilities, only if the above doubts are getting cleared the only the additional money should get allocated.