In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author in the article suggests that the city government should devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities. However, several assumptions in the argument need supports.

The argument assumes that the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell are worsening because of no maintaining riverside recreational facilities. However, it is possible that there are other polluting factors causing the quality of the river decreases. Maybe there are several factories existing near the Mason River, and these factories will produce a handsome amount of waste water and other pollutants. After a few years, these factories will not only cause seriously environmental problems, but also not attract more people coming here. Therefore, we must know that if there are other factors will cause the quality of Mason river decreasing.

The argument assumes that the state has announced plans to clean up the Mason River. However, the author does not provide thorough information about this plan, and we cannot totally know that will the state conduct its plan for cleaning up Mason river. Maybe the state will clean up the garbage produced by pedestrians, or the state will spend its money trimming the trees along the river. Still, the original reason that this river is polluted is that there are many residents discharge waste water from their home. Therefore, the author must provide more solid information about which factors are the main reasons that cause the pollution of the Mason River.

The argument assumes that use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. However, maybe the number of the people who engage in these sports is a minority of the residents. These water sports will need professionals to teach these residents, or these residents will not be able to learn these water sports by themselves. Maybe the fees of theses water sports courses are so expensive that these residents cannot afford the fees. Maybe the income of these residents has largely decreased because they have just undergone a serious economic recession. Also, it is possible that the number of the people who are interested in these water sports is small, therefore, most of the residents will not be willing to participate these water sports or pay for the fees of these water sports courses. Moreover, it is also likely that these resident may consider that engaging in these water sports are very dangerous, thus, they will not be willing to let their children attend these water sports. Therefore, the author must provide more information about how many people will be willing to do these water sports after the states finish its plan.

A clean river may bring more benefits for local residents and produce a huge amount of profits for the local government. However, the author must still address the above assumptions to strengthen his argument.