In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes littl

The author argues here that the state’s plan to clean up Mason River would increase the use of the river for water sports thus, I generally disagree with the author’s opinion and despite the facts provided by the author, the argument contains a number of logical loopholes which succeed in making the argument sound unconvincing.

Firstly this is merely an assumption made by the author, when he claims that if the river is in a better condition then the residents will use it for riverside recreational activities. There is a possibility that the river may be too shallow or would have a very rapid flow thus making it unsuitable for fishing and swimming respectively. Thus the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that the river was appropriate for all the recreational activities.

Secondly the author readily claims that as the residents have been complaining about the quality of the river’s water and the water’s smell, so if the state cleans the river they will begin using it for recreational purposes. But maybe the citizens were complaining just with the desire to get the the river clean as it’s a part of the city where they live. And having a polluted water body isn’t great for any city as well as it’s residents as it may cause many problems for an example widespread of a disease. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it shows no clear correlation between the residents demand and their interest to use the river for water sports.

Lastly, the author cites that the state should increase the money devoted to riverside activities in the activity as water sports are the favorite recreational activity. However, it could be that the residents prefer to go to some other river as they want to spend some time away from the city. So they can do other activities or they generally go for water sports on the weekends and thus want to try water sports at other neighboring rivers. Thus there is a good chance that even if the state improves the water sports at the Mason river people may not still use it.

In conclusion the author’s argument is unconvincing as it stands. To bolster it further the author must provide some clear and concrete evidence perhaps by way of reliable and detailed analysis. He should look into if the river is suitable for water sports, are the residents willing to use it for recreational purposes and whether the residents will begin using it once it is clean and has better water sports facilities.