In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author reaches the conclusion that the Mason City government would rather use more budget to build riverside recreational facilities. The foundation for this claim is that residents of the city favor water sports. An additional reason given in support of this outcome is that the lower budget caused the poor quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. At first glance, the author’s argument seems tenable. However, this agreement not only suffers from defects but also prejudices its conclusion upon several dubious assumptions. Therefore, it can be considered incomplete and unconfirmed. Before the summing-up, the author needs to clarify the following points.

In the first place, the writer assumes that the Mason City residents ranked high to enjoy water sports. But basing on their claim is not credible due to the lack of observation that other sports or entertainments which the residents prefer. Suppose, for instance, that if the residents love both water sports and mountain sports, the government might want to use a budget for not only recreational facilities near the river but also guidance or houses which support the hikers on the mountain. To strengthen the argument, the author would have to provide reliable evidence showing that the assumption that the Mason City people favor winter sports at a high rank.

In the second place, the author exaggerates when she claims that the government will clean up the river so there are more players of the river sports. However, it is plausible because the river condition is not taken into consideration. Let’s say the city has a severe drought. The depth of the river will shallow which means that people cannot enjoy boating and fishing. The author should clarify the assumption of whether the river is safe enough for all people to enjoy. Therefore, it could be misleading that the government should devote more money to water recreational facilities.

In the third place, the author didn’t point out whether facilities will need additional money from residents. To give what I mean, let’s look a case of water sports facility will need a monthly fee from sports players. In this case, there is a possibility that people will not use the facility. The author would want to state whether the facility will need an extra fee from residents. Therefore, this argument is unwarranted without ruling out such a possibility.

To sum up, the author will fail to provide sufficient justification for the advantages of using the money to make riverside recreational facilities. Before arriving at the conclusion, the author should acknowledge that there are many factors involved in this story and undertake more investigation to clarify the uncertain pointed out above. The argument would be strengthened considerably if the author proved the assumption whether the residents willing to devote their time and money to play the river sports.