"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In this argument, the author reaches the conclusion that both firstborn infant monkey and humans produce high levels of cortisol in a stimulating situation, and first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol. The foundation of this claim is that from the study of eighteen rhesus monkeys. At first glance, the author’s argument seems reasonable; however, this agreement not only suffers from defects but also it prejudices its conclusion upon several skeptical assumptions, therefore, the arguments might lead to a different conclusion than one given. In the following analysis, I would explain alternative explanations from the argument.

In the first place, the writer assumes that the firstborn rhesus monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, but he can consider an alternative explanation that the production of the hormone cortisol is from the monkey’s age. Firstborn monkey is always older than the younger monkeys, thus, it could be possible to consider that older monkey generates more hormone cortisol than the younger monkey.

In the second place, the author can think that the monkey which has bigger body produce higher levels of cortisol because older monkeys have bigger bodies. As the argument explains, the hormone cortisol is for increasing activity levels, thus the bigger monkey might need the hormone more than the younger and smaller monkeys.

In the third place, she points out that the first-time mother had higher levels of cortisol, but it is not persuasive because we can conclude that the first-time mother monkey generates more the hormone due to frustrations and fears. Hence, this argument is unwarranted without considering such a possibility.

In the fourth place, the writer exaggerates firstborn humans also produce higher levels of the hormone cortisol, but this assertion is not reliable because the researcher examined only eighteen rhesus monkeys. The outcome from the experiment can determine the only rhesus monkeys, not for other kinds of the monkey and humans, hence, the author needs to examine other kinds of monkeys to examine whether humans also differ between firstborn monkeys and humans.

To sum up, the author fails to provide sufficient justification for the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. Before arriving a conclusion, the author should acknowledge that there are many factors involved in this story and undertake an additional investigation to clarify the uncertain pointed out above. The argument would be strengthened considerably if the author rules out such possibilities.