The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the writing, on Balmer Island, the number of accidents caused by moped was significant problem so they will reduce the number of mopeds rented by the island’s moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day because the neighboring island of Seaville succeed in reduction of the accident between mopeds and pedestrians last year. At first glance, the author’s argument seems reasonable. However, this agreement not only suffers from defects but also it prejudices its conclusion upon several skeptical assumptions. Therefore, the argument is incomplete and unconfirmed. Before finalizing the conclusion, the author must answer the following questions in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result.

In the first place, the writer assumes that the rented mopeds caused accidents with pedestrians, so she contends that we need to reduce mopeds which people rented but basing on their claim is not credible due to the fact that there is a possibility residents’ moped made accidents. For example, if the ratio of an accident caused by owned moped to rented accidents was 8:2, the number of totals will not decrease even though if the rented mopeds riders decreased. Therefore, the author examines the question whether the number of rented mopeds’ accidents is surely high, and it reveals the reliability of the writer’s recommendation.

In the second place, the author exaggerates her idea when she claims that the neighboring island of Seaville could reduce the number of accidents with the same method of her suggestion, however, it is not persuasive because she didn’t mention the environmental difference between the two islands. To illustratrate of what I mean, let’s look at the case when the road condition on Balmer island is worth than on Seaville island. In this case, if the Balmer island’s change their policy, the possibility of causing the accidents might not change. Thus, the writer must answer even if the condition of the traffic and roads are similar in the two islands, and it will ensure people who the idea is more plausible.

In the third place, the writer points out that the island of Seaville succeed in limiting the number of accidents when their town council enforced limits the number of rented mopeds, yet her assertion is not feasible because she observed just a year. There is a possibility that the number of accidents will increase in the future. Hence, the argument is unwarranted without ruling out and answering such a possibility.

To sum up, the author fails to prove sufficient justification to recommend that the island should reduce the number of rented mopeds. Before arriving the final conclusion, she must acknowledge that there are many factors involved in this story and undertake an additional investigation to answer the uncertain questions pointed out above.