Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue of educators’ responsibility is controversial. Some visionaries, including the speaker, claim that educational institutions should advise students to not pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed whereas others argue that all students should study what they want to do. Admittedly, both ideas are equally important. As far as I see it, the former statement is more convincing than the latter. People should have the right to study what they want to do because educational institutions are a place to study. However, it is erroneous to conclude that educational advises are worthless, and I, therefore, insist and provide evidence supporting the former one and refuting the latter one.

To begin with, one logical explanation for my fundamental agreement is that people go to school to study and learn. Educational institutions are not placed to practice their talented skills. If we analyze university students’ reason to go to university in Japan, we have a certain level of agreement that they respond they want to study what they cannot study in high schools. In such a society where people consider educational institutions is a place to study, advisers don’t have to choose student’s fields of study because many students are thinking that they go to a university to pursue what they want to study.

Furthermore, there is another reason for me to choose the former statement. The reason is that no one can truly advise specialties of study in which they are likely to succeed because we cannot know other people’s talents in a short period. Suppose, for instance, that you are a teacher and teach mathematics for middle school students, and some students got 100% of your test and others received only 15% of the test. Can you say the students who got the lowest grade, 15%, will not succeed in mathematics fields in her rest of life? I don’t think no one can judge what subject’s area suit for each student from an educator’s view, because they just can see test score. As is widely known, some professional famous mathematician such as Galileo were not great at math at first, thus, as this example illustrates, I disagree with the opinion that people should advise learner’s professional studies.

Even with all these reasons I stated above, however, it would be still too perfunctory to conclude that educational institutions should not advise students’ appropriate fields of study since there is no denying that the advantage of advising preferable kinds of studies. Admittedly, some might contend that it is waste of time and money if we can not succeed in the study which a student chooses. Let’s say you are a computer science student and studied the subject for three years, but you changed your major of the study because you realized that you ate computer programming and the GPA is too low to graduate from a university. In that case, you will think that you wanted to have some advice from advisers, however, this argument overlooks the fact that what you learned at least fundamental concepts of computer science. For example, if you change the major to psychology, you might use computers knowledge to conduct psychological experiments, thus, I believe that there is no wasting time and money to study a subject because all fields of study connect in several ways.

Consequently, I advocated that people should not have advice from others because, the main reason is, educational intuitions are places to study, so all students can choose what they want to pursue their favorite studies. Another reason is we don’t have a certain way to distinguish students’ suitable studies. However, admittedly, while pursuing the subject, which students might not complete their study, is not ideal for student’s life and budget may be true in exceptional cases, I agree that every study is useful in other fields. Hence, I want to stress that all students have to pursue what they want to study. Considering these reasons, it is clear that educational institutions should not provide suggestions to choose a major of studies.

hese reasons, it is clear that educational institutions should not provide suggestions to choose major of studies.