The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The writer concludes that Buckingham College should build new housing on-campus because the number of student’s enrollments is increasing, students do not afford to pay off-campus housing rent, and new dormitories might attract incoming students. At first glance, the argument seems reasonable, however, this agreement not only suffers from defects but also it prejudices its conclusion upon several skeptical assumptions, therefore, the agreement is incomplete and unconfirmed. Before the final conclusion,

In the first place, the author assumes that the number of students is going to double in next 50 years, so we need new space to live for students but based on their claim is not credible due to the fact that the writer observed just only current trends. She has to discuss specific evidence to claim the number of students’ enrollment will be increasing in the future. This evidence can strengthen the author’s argument because the college can realize that the number of dormitories is insufficient.

In the second place, the writer exaggerates when she claims that the average rent fee for off-campus housing will increase, so the students do not afford to pay it. However, this argument is not persuasive because she didn’t consider one possibility. Let’s say the number of students increased drastically, and off-housing campus companies rented more houses near the campus. In this case, it is more likely that the rent fee decreases in the future, thus it could be misleading to conclude that the college needs new housing because the rental fee will increase.

In the third place, the claimer points out that the new dormitories might attract new students to enroll the college, but this assertion is not feasible because students decide a university based on fields of study or clubs. To illustrate what I mean, let’s consider the case that a high school student is thinking about some universities to attend. She firstly thinks that her goal of education, so if she wants to be a nurse, she will choose the college which has a sophisticated nursing major. In the next, she will consider the tuition fee and club activities. After these considerations, she might think about features dormitories, thus, the students’ interest in the college for dormitories is law. The argument would be strengthened if she provides evidence that many students look forward to staying great dormitories to choose the college.

To sum up, the author failed to prove sufficient evidence for her argument. Before the summing-up, she should acknowledge that there are many factors involved in this story and undertake an additional investigation to the uncertain pointed out above.