In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author states that to increase usage of the river for water sports the city council should assign more budget for overhauling facilities which are used for them and the river should be cleaned to remove its odour. In order to support his/her idea they cited to a survey about favorite recreational activities and complaints from citizen about river smell but argument fail to provide sufficient reasons for support thier claims.

The statemnet refer to a survey and maintain that natives are intersetd to do water sports in the city but it does not provide any clear evidane and additional details about procedure of the study. were the number of responders enough or they just ask a limited persons. Did they consider different range of people from riverside to other parts of the city and all the age groups and economic conditions? Even all of the aforementioned item were considered, the wording of the statement is vouge. As it mentioned water sports are in favorite recreational activities of citizens, it does not mean they prefer to do instead of the sports which they are used to playing ar maybe they just like to watch these sports not doing themselves. For sterngthen the statement, theauthor should provide additional detail about the survey and if the survey could not provide adequte evidance, another survey should be applied by normed group size and standard questions.

In the argument mentioned, a little budget has been assigned for maintaining spot facilities. Therfore, it means there are some tools right now but the question is why these instrument could not provide enough mony for repairing themselves. Also, it does not mentioned these facilities are enough for the city and just neet amintenance of the new one should be bought. Then, it assumes that the city council have enough fund but in the reality maybe they sould cut budget of other consturction project, like building hospital and constructing subway, to afford the needed budget for this purpose. In order to provide cogent reasons, the author could provide some historical evidance of budget usage and a list of sport facilities and forcast their budget.

Finally, the author suggest that eliminating river smell could improve usage of water sports. Although removing odour of river could help to attract tourists and make helthier city, the author could not provide sufficent relation between them. On the other hand, the source of this smell is not cited and it is possible that it orginates from factories and building alongide the river. So, by cleaning ht river it would not disappear and we should consider of its resource. Therfore, it would be persuasive if they could prepare clear evidance of relation between odour and water sports and also provide some detail of resource of smell.

In summery, the argument provide some suggestion to increase water sports in the city but fails to provide cogent causes to support their idea.