In the surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The mason river flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up the mason river. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

It may be true that government can devote more money for riverside recreational facilities, but this argument stated by the author does not hold cogent reasons for increasing use of river. Also it is easy to understand why people require the river to be cleaned but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions so doesn’t cogent for increased funding.

Citing the survey author reports that the residents consider water sports as their favorite recreational activities, but scope and viability of that survey is in question as it may be that the conducted survey asked questions such as whether they preferred the river being used for water sports or hydroelectric dam built across it. Also it may have been conducted only on the people living riverside. It may happen that people may have opted for water sports because they like watching it rather than playing. Nothing specific is known about it. Unless and until the survey is reliable author fails to back his statement.

Author also states that people but don’t use river for swimming, boating and shipping but there is no concrete evidence that people don’t use river because it is not clean. Although complaints regarding water smell and cleanliness are received, but we don’t know whether there are numerous complaints or only or two complaints regarding it. One way of strengthening this argument is by conducting a survey asking people why they don’t currently use river?.

Based on the implications that people don’t use river because of its smell and its quality government has decided to clean the river. This decision is viable if the smell is produced by the harmful fluids eliminated by industries or factories but what if the natural substances or the geographical area are responsible for odor in such case even cleaning of water will be of no use.

Though clean water adds to city’s property value, increases tourism as well as healthy government can decide to fund for its maintenance but here this argument of author fails to convince the government for increasing the funds