Artic deer lives on Canada’s artic regions. They search over the food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since there reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer’s being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across frozen sea.

It may true that deer use migration patterns in order to search for their food but, this argument stated by author does not hold cogent reasons for decline in their population. It is very natural that due to scarcity of food, death can occur but, this argument is rife with holes and assumptions and hence fails to convince the decline in deer population.

It is possible that the arctic deer might live in Canada’s arctic region and move over the ice from one island towards other in search of food but, this argument doesn’t specify that the deer’s cannot swim. There are many deer’s and other non-aquatic animals who can swim and we simply can’t ignore this fact. To strengthen his argument, the author should mention that the water being so cold the deer is not able to swim.

Based on the implication that deer is not able to swim, it is necessary that they need to migrate from place to place over ice. Also, the author mentions the weather conditions about its habitat but, there are many plants that can grow in any weather condition so don’t know the exact weather conditions required for its survival.

Also, the reports given by local hunters may be misleading. It may happen that this report was given by two or three hunters. Moreover, there might be a case where, these hunters went for hunting and just because they were unable to find single deer they thought that the death rate of deer has increased.

The author also says that the hunter’s reports coincides with global warming trends but, nothing specific about global warming effect on Canada’s arctic area is mentioned. Global warming might has caused ice to melt in some parts of the world but, the extent to which it affects Canada is not mentioned so we can’t assume that it would affect in the same manner.

Not being able to migrate may have been one of the reasons for death of deer’s but, it may not be the only reason, death could have occurred due to sudden weather changes or increased number of wild animals who feed on deer. So the decrease in number of deer’s may not only be due to melting of ice inhibiting the deer’s to follow its migration pattern.