to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities

As the good old saying goes on “when you are in Rome behave as Romans would” meaning that behavior of Romans will give idea about roman society. But the main question is that whether in today’s worlds this will hold true because Rome being a big city will comprise of people from various countries due their career or other important things. On the contrary small towns and villages have majority of roman population which preserves its culture and religion so it would be beneficial to study smaller towns and villages to gain insights about characteristics of the society.

Earlier big city like France would give idea about French society but now as France is considered to be the global fashion hub it will contain models, designers etc. from various countries so it won’t provide true characteristics of society as small towns and villages would. Moreover over the years a new tradition of inter cast marriages has been introduced leading to a new generation who lacks in traits of either of their parents. However in towns such traditions are often opposed and follow their own ancient traditions so the chances of understanding the characteristics of society are more.

In a country like India, more than 70% of population lives in rural areas so as to understand characteristics of society it is necessary to study small towns and villages too. Due to modernization people in cities may think that their ancient practices were superstitious and follow some other customs so studying a city won’t guarantee that the characteristics are related only to that society

Big cities are likely to have majority of society’s population, also it can provide social, political and economic characteristics, but the true characteristics of society can only be understood by understanding rural areas well.