In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes littl

The author argues that Mason City residents consider water sports among their favorite recreational activities. He states that the city residents do not benefit from these as it supposed to be simply because the government received complaints from the residents about the water and its quality. For these reasons, the government decided to take further actions to clean up Mason River. However, the author lacks support adequate evidences to support his argument.

First and foremost, the author mentions that the government received some complaints from the residents, however, he does not explain the nature of these complaints and what the residents actually want. Probably, most of the residents complain about the smell of the water because it bothers them not because they want to use this water for sports. Accordingly, the government spending money on Mason River will be of no use at all but a waste of the government’s efforts and money. The government can save that money and utilize it for other advantages for the citizens, instead of wasting it. Had the author explained more about the complaints, the argument would have made more sense.

Second, the author assures that the river sports will increase after the government cleans it up. However, this argument is not bolstered by any evidence in the argument. In other words, what is the basis for making the author so certain that the sports will increase! It might be possible that the city residents enjoy other sports other than the water ones. Also, the argument ignores to take into consideration the weather of that city; it could be cold all over the year, and accordingly they do not find water sports enjoyable.

It is very clear that the author lays his argument but without enough evidences to support his claim. Thus, the argument does not appear cogent to the mind, and it is not enough convincing at all. Had he bolstered his argument with the above mentioned points, I believe the argument would have made much more sense to the reader.