In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Based on three premises the argument concludes that more budget should be devoted to riverside recreational facilities by city government. First of all, based on some surveys water sports are being ranked in higher levels among Macon City resident’s favorite recreational activities. Second, quality of river’s water and its smell is bothering the residents. And finally, cleaning up the river will increase the use of river for water sports. None of these premises are satisfactory and there are several loopholes in the argument which makes any conclusion deduced from it untenable.

First premise of the author is that residents rarely use river for water sports however they are highly interested in swimming, boating, and fishing based on some surveys. Actually there is not any information about neither the procedures in which these surveys are conducted nor the time they conducted. It might be these survey have been done based on the reports of inadequate number of samples or also it might be the samples used in these surveys are not representative of all residents of the city. In addition, it is plausible that resident’s favorites have changed since the surveys have been done. the findings of these surveys are outdated and resident’s favorites have changed since the surveys have been done. Therefore, the findings of these surveys are outdated and neither valid nor reliable. Furthermore, maybe the river has no sufficient water to conduct water sports due to probable severe drought there.

Second notion of the argument is that city residents are being bothered due to river’s smell and bad quality. It is only mentioned that there have been complaints for years and the author fails to give further information to the readers whether or not there is still complaints from residents. In addition, the author fails to take into consideration other main reasons for smell and bad quality of the river, it might be the problem is due to a factory which depletes its waste to the river. If so, cleaning up the river would have least effect on solution of the problem.

The final aspect which is mentioned in the passage is that cleaning up the river would increase the use of river for water sport. This prediction suffers from lack of sufficient evidence for correlation between cleaning up and increase in use of river for sport. In addition, as mentioned in the passage the water quality as bad, and there is no guarantee that after cleaning up the river its quality improves. Consequently, people will still abandon the river for its water quality. Furthermore, the city might be located by sea or there might be other more quality facilities such as modern pools in the city which people prefer them for swimming, boating, and fishing.

In final analysis, the author’s suggestion cannot be taken into be correct because, for the given information, it depends on number of premises all of which could be explained in other ways. The argument could have been more comprehensive if the author had presented sufficient yet convincing evidence to support his claim. Therefore, the passage is not totally convincing and unsound.