"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Based on three premises the argument suggests that in order to reverse a recent decline in number of the listeners WWAC radio should change from its current rock-music format to a news and talk format. First of all, most of the new residents of the city are retired people and the radio should generate appropriate programs for their taste. Second, resident’s interest in music has decreased. And finally, news and talk is an increasingly popular radio program format there. None of these premises are satisfactory and there are several loopholes in the argument which makes any conclusion deduced from it untenable.

The first premise of the author is that main proportion of the new residents are retired people. Actually there is no information and statistics about number of moving in people and the ones who are already resident there. It is plausible that new residents constitute only small proportion of the population. In addition, the correlation between the genre and the decline cannot be effectively made without further information. For example, the decline may be explained by the station’s repetitious and outmoded songs, low quality of their signals, high number interruption among programs because of advertisements, and etc. which might be boring for listeners.

Second notion of the argument is that resident’s interest in music is decreased since they buy fewer number of recorded music. It should be taken into consideration that fewer sales of recorded music do not necessarily mean decrease in the popularity of music. There might be several other main reasons for current decrease in the sales. Sharing music among themselves, downloading them from internet, loose copy-write rules, online streams, or even listening them throw their own radio station would be main reasons for the decline. If so, the argument would be void.

The final subtle point mentioned in the passage is that news and talk format is an increasingly popular format there. There is no information, statistics or cited surveys to assure the readers about higher popularity of the news and talk format. Even of it is a popular radio program format there it does not necessarily provide sufficient evidence for correlation between its popularity and increase in WWAC listeners. It might be they are well-known only because of their current specific rock-music format. If so, changing format would counteract.

In final analysis, the author’s suggestion cannot be taken to be correct because, for the given information, it depends on number of premises all of which could be explained in other ways as well. The argument could have been more comprehensive if the author had presented more information and statistics to support his claim. Therefore, the argument is not totally convincing and unsound.