In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes littl

The author argues here about the residents of Mason City complaints about the non-exploitation of the Mason River which was at first a park to practice sports at. Stated this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it would be evaluated. To justify this commendation, the author reasons that an only a small budget is devoted to the Mason River and no maintenance work is performed which made the residents complain. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or substantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that Mason City residents rank water sports among their favorite activities to practice. This is merely an assumption made without a solid ground. For example, while some might want to practice water sports others might want to admire the beauty of the River and find it a peaceful place to meditate and relax. Hence the argument would have been more convincing if it explicitly stated that all of the residents with no exceptions would agree to like water sports more.

The argument readily claims that the author claims that the city park department devotes little budget on riverside facilities. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate correlation between sports practicing and river maintaining. To illustrate further, the author ignored what are the priorities of the city other than the river, it is possible that the government is establishing new infrastructures or they are bigger problems to deal with such as building hospitals or schools which is much important and to be prioritized. If the argument had provided evidence that the city doesn’t need any of the above then it would have been a lot more convincing to complain about the riverside.

Finally, the author notes that the state has recently responded that it will assure maintaining this riverside. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion in several critical aspects. For example, at what price these plans for maintaining come? is it really the priority of the government to respond to this kind of complaints? and How this action will impact the budget of the city's government? Without answering these questions, the reader is left to a wishful thinking.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by a detailed analysis on the government's plan for the city. Finally, to better assess the survey, it would be necessary to know more information about why the government did not act before that residents complain and was it planned to maintain the River before the complaints.