"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The author argues here about a television station problem with complaints about weather and local news coverage. Stated this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To support this conclusion the author notes that the problem has been solved by a decision of converting back to local and weather news. However careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's recommendation.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the television program contains no more news related to local events or weather precipitation. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, it is possible that the station has found that the number of viewers of that kind of news has decreased and tried to change in order to attract more followers or it might be because of the availability of others stations that are more focused on these news interests. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that this television station was the only one that provided local and weather news and now that is doesn't people are starting to complain about it.

The argument readily claims that local advertisers canceled their contracts with the station. This is weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any correlation between weather and local news and advertising business contracts. To illustrate further, business advertising is not only related to local news since even local businesses can display their advertisement during other news or programs and this won't affect their influence or marketing programs. If the argument had provided evidence that advertisers from local businesses consist an essential part in the shares of the station or in contracts terms it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the manager noted that they will devote more time to weather and local news as it was before. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that is provides little credible expectation. For example, what guaranties that the channel will earn again its viewers after they were complaining? and at what expense the channel will restore this kind of news? will it be needing to break contracts with other advertisers in order to do so? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide better concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey about follower's preferences. Finally, to better assess the survey, it would be necessary to know more information about programs watching statistics and what these followers would prefer to see on their television.