For a Television station in order to attract more viewers for the program to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, it decides to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The memorandum from the business manager of the television station concludes that inorder to save their revenues from furthur tipping and to increase their viewership, they need to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. This conclusion must have been made based on several premises and if they were found true, the statement can be considered a valid one. However there are three unwarranted assumptions that need to be addressed by the manager for the argument to hold water.

Firstly, the author needs to confirm if the the complaints received from viewers were pertaining only to the coverage of weather and local news. If not, then the number of complaints received regarding the local news might be considerably insignificant when compared to the whole lot. The presentation of the news and quality of the same might have been a huge issue that required the station's attention. It could also be that the content presented by the programs was not accessible to the masses.

Additionally, the author must confirm if the complaints must have been about the credibility of the reported local news and the reliability on the weather forecasts made by the programs. If the station broadcasted to a certain set of regions which are heavily prone to natural calamities, it would demand to get clear and unambiguous information regarding the weather conditions.

Finally, the local businesses must have canceled their advertising contracts due to reasons like lack of budget or change in business strategies. The author needs to evaluate if their station's advertising services have higher costs than a different television station and if the businesses revoked the contracts because they wished to market their products to a different target audience pertaining to a different region altogether.

The author has come up with a valid assesment, however if any of the assumptions highlighted above holds true, then the validity of the assessment is hampered.