A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is a natural proclivity to group what is found to be similar. By doing so, it gives a sense of homogenity and makes decision-making a fairly easy process. I mostly agree with the statement of requiring all students of a nation to follow the same curriculum until they enter college. There are two reasons why it would be feasible to do so, however I do admit that adopting such a practice might hinder a student's freedom to make an informed decision pertaining to their higher studies.

Firstly, the uniformity in evaluation and grading can help students derive a rank for themselves when compared to rest of the population. It makes the process of ordering much more smooth and creates a standardized system for scoring pupils. In the past many decades, it has been observed in several occasions that a student's score evaluated by a certain education board is deemed to be incomparable to another's who belongs to a different board. Thus creating a standard for evaluation helps to a great extent.

Similarly, as every student follows the same curriculum it can be certain in most times than not that the quality of education is the same. The way each student is educated becomes more or less similar and thereby creates a sense of belonging with their peers say from a different institution.

While I stand to support such an idea, I do concede that such a practice can be a problem for students who get into the system midway through their schooling as they have a high chance of feeling out of place and overwhelmed. Though this may be one of the disadvantages of pursuing the idea, the policy to bring a standardized system in any area has mostly been welcoming to its audiences.