There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than

does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken

by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one

physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as

high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These

findings suggest that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities.

The author concludes that a relaxed life in small towns promotes better health and great longevity than a hectic life in the big cities. The author uses the town of Leeville and the city of Masonton as an example to support his conclusion. The author argues that in Leeville, fewer sick leaves are reported by workers than by business in Masonton. The author also states that the ratio of physician to people is 5 to 1000 in Masonton while it is 1 to 1000 in Leeville. The author further argues that the average age of Leeville residents is far higher than that of the Masonton residents. The author then concludes from his evidence that the life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives. However, the argument presented has made several assumptions that need to be considered before accepting or rejecting this argument.

Firstly, the author assumes that a fewer number of sick leaves reported implies that people are healthier. However, there may be other reasons. For example, maybe in the cities, business offer paid sick leaves to their employees so that when they get sick, they can take the day off. This is a common trend seen in medium and large scale companies in cities such as IT firms. On the other hand, workers living in small towns such as Leville might not be getting this benefit. These workers might be part of a labour workforce who get paid on a daily basis for the work they do. In that case, taking a 'sick leave' for that worker means that he will not get paid that day. As most of these workers might not be well off financially, they might still go to work even if they are feeling sick. Hence, the number of reported leaves is not a good comparison of general health between Masonton and Leeville.

Furthermore, the author assumes that having a lower doctor-to-people ratio means that there are less health problems in the area. This is not always true. It is possible that doctors are not setting up clinics in towns in general. This could be sue to many reasons. Maybe the local residents are not able to afford going to the doctor when they are sick. Also, the doctors might want to settle in cities where they will get paid better and be able to enjoy better facilities such as good schools for their children and a richer lifestyle. In either case, this satistic is also not enough to support the authors conclusion. In fact, this statistic might reveal that there is less healthcare access in the town of Leeville than in Masonton, which is not a good thing.

Finally, the author mentions that the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. This might not imply that Leeville residents have better health. Perhaps the young population of Masonton has migrated to the city in lieu of better career opportunities. In another case, maybe residents of Masonton decided to move back to Leeville after retirement to escape the hectic life of cities. In both these cases, there is a chance of observing a higher average age among Leeville residents. Hence, additional data is required regarding the average age statistic. For example, has this statistic been collected over a period of time to ensure it remains constant?

In conclusion, the author's conclusion that life in small towns promotes health and longevity is reasonable. However, in the case of Leeville and Masonton, the evidence provided by the in the argument is not enough to justify the assumptions made. More data needs to be collected to strengthen this argument.