In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

The speaker claims that beginners tend to make more major contributions than experts in a field of inquiry. I strongly agree with the speaker as I believe that beginners have an ability to bring fresh ideas and perspectives which can shine light on new ways to approach a particular problem. Though I understand that experts are equipped with a plethora of experience and have solved a variety of problems, they tend to get lost in their experience and are not able to generate new and efficient approaches. I support my stance with a few detailed reasons supported by relevant examples.

Firstly, experts working in the same field for a long period of time tend to get saturated by the current knowledge they possess. They also tend to get saturated by the existing methods they use to approach a particular problem. For example, a detective working in the field of criminal investigation might have always been confronted with similar transgression cases and is therefore used to investigating these cases by following the same set of assumptions. However, a new detective who is completely new to this field might therefore ask more basic questions that may even cast doubt upon the assumptions these experts have considered. This may lead to a novel lead in a crime case which might seem impossible to crack by other expert detectives working alongside him.

Furthermore, though the beginner is new to a particular field, he brings with him his share of personal experiences and knowledge which may sometimes shine new light on existing problems. Let us take the area of scientific research for example. A group of scientists are working on ways to improve a software's accuracy to identify the title and artist of a piece of music just by listening to it. On the other hand, a recent joinee to their team is a hobby musician and understands that all pieces of music have a certain structure and style to it that can be used to easily pre-categorize the music before identifying it, thereby reducing the search space from which to find the details of this piece. This might lead to an breakthrough development in the area of music recognition that could have never been thought of before if someone with this particular expertise had not stepped in.

In conclusion, it is possible that experts are more adept in performing strategic inquiry that is specific to the field of study. However, the innate advantage of a beginner is that he is not biased by the existing methods and questioning that is already present within the field. Hence, he can use his unique perspective and personal knowledge and experience to make important contributions to the inquiry. This also means that experts should try to think like a beginner in their own fields by questionin existing approaches and going back to the basic principles and assumptions.