There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual w

Some believe that living in small cities provides residents with more peace and health, while big cities lead to a more stressful lifestyle. The author supports this idea with some reasons which are flawed based on the evidences mentioned below.

First of all, this is asserted that the lower rate of sick leaves in Leeville, means the higher level of health amongst work force, whilst this could be resulted from lower employee’s rights in smaller cities. For instance, if a worker gets sick at work in a big city, the manager is responsible to send him/her home, as they might cause harms to the processes while not working efficiently, and if they force the sick person to stay at work, that would be against the rules. Therefore, if the employers of small cities provide their employees with their rights, the number of sick leaves would increase there, as well as big cities.

On the other hand, the lower number of physicians might not show the smaller need for their profession, but would be due to lower number of skilled people in this area. Since most of the educated physicians might prefer to live in a big city rather than a small one, in order to experience a prosperous life with higher level of welfare. Thus accessibility to better services, is the main reason for physicians to choose where to live and work.

In conclusion, although this might be correct that living in a small city is more peaceful and healthier, the above mentioned reasons can not necessarily prove this. As there are lots of different elements involving in this controversial concept and a more standardized research framework should be considered to estimate the influences of various factors.