Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years, the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance. She points to a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines that indicate greater reader interest in economic issues than in political ones. Newsbeat's editor, however, opposes the proposed shift in editorial policy, pointing out that very few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore.

Since the argument relies on some assumptions that may not hold true, it fails to make a cogent case to explain the idea behind the shift from political to exclusively economics and personal finance. some of the assumptions may be true but we just don't know about them in detail, some others could be even unreasonable without establishing new assumptions.

Economically speaking, we don't know exactly what happened in the past three years in which people didn't show interest in buying a political-featured magazine that cause the readers not to show interest in buying magazines including political ones. Also it could be for the political situation itself. For example a representative of on party win the election and people loose their interest of politics, like what happened in the United States in 2016 election.

The idea of shifting to economics and personal finance comes from the survey of readers of general interest magazines, the publisher points out. In case of survey's result being reliable, we should not rely on the readers of general interest because the target market for specialized magazines could be completely different from the general ones. Moreover in the results of the survey we don't know about the quantity of "greater interest". Greater interest could be 10 percent or 90 percent. Also in this survey it's not mentioned that people showed greater interest or even interest in personal finance.

The other issue is within the editor’s opinion about the shifting idea. It is unclear in the last sentence of the argument why she opposes the policy mentioning that very few magazines offer extensive political, because the editorial decided to shift from political maybe due to decrease in overall numbers of political coverage magazine. Even this could be an indicator for being right in what editorial decided.

Whit these questions in mind we cannot say that strong that this policy could work for magazine or not unless we find plausible answer in details from where the magazine is now to where it should go.