"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Dr. Karp concludes his and his team’s interview-centered approach to be more accurate in understanding the child-rearing traditions, but his argument is laden with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to support his conclusion.

According to Dr. Karp, his interviews show that the children in Tertia spend much more time talking about their biological parents than the other adults in the village, and thus, Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid. However, the scope and validity of this claim is questionable. The interview sample may not be representative of the entire child population in Tertia. Additionally, we have no information about the kind of questions asked in the interview. It could be possible that Dr. Karp asked questions which were geared around the kids’ relationships with their biological parents. He is making a highly suspect assumption when he claims Dr. Field’s conclusion to be invalid, just because the kids spent more time talking about their biological parent. There could be numerous reasons why the kids talked more about their biological parents, for example, the questions required them to do that. Moreover, the interview may not be fully representative, valid, and reliable to back the author’s claim.

Adding to the previous implication, he assumes observation-centered approach to studying cultures invalid on the basis of his previous assumption; that Dr. Field’s conclusion about children in Tertia is invalid. While we don’t have enough evidence to suggest if Dr. Field’s conclusion is valid or not, we do know that, even if Dr. Field’s observation about Tertian children is wrong, Dr. Karp can’t use it as the sole basis to make a comparison between interview-centered approach and observation centered approach. There simply isn’t enough relevant evidence to make that comparison, or support the author’s argument.

The interview-centered approach may or may not be apt enough. However, on the basis of certain assumptions Dr. Karp is claiming the observation-centered approach to be invalid, and if invalid, the interview-centered approach to studying child rearing traditions to be more accurate. In hindsight, there is not much evidence to suggest the interview-centered approach to be more accurate. For instance, even if the conclusion-based approach were proven invalid that wouldn’t make the observation-based approach accurate. The observation-based approach must be studied in more depth to make any conclusions about it, and can’t be based on the validity, or invalidity of the former approach.

Dr. Karp’s argument in favour of interview-centered method to study child-rearing traditions is highly suspect. If his assumptions fail to hold true, his entire argument falls apart.