Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents However my recent interviews with childr

The given argument is a comparision between observation-centered approach to study cultures with interview-centered approach. The observational study was made twenty years ago on an island of Tertia. The interview approach has been made on the people of same village but in recent times. The observational study concludes that children of the village are reared by the entire village and not just by their biological parents, where as interview approach concludes that the children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than other adults of the village.

The argument on both sides in itself is rife with many holes and assumptions. For the observational approach it doesn't form a basis on which the conclusion was given. There is no accountability of the parameters that were taken into account while making the conclusions. There could be several factors which would have been taken into account such as children's behaviour towards each other or towards the parents and adults, their helping nature, how well they mingle with different age group people and last but not the least how divergent children of same age group behave in different situations. Each factor when taken individually or with a combination of others could lead an individual to conclude differently.

For the interview approach which is the most recent one, there is again no evidence on what questions were proposed to the children. There could be several factors on which questions could be asked such as, the questions could be more specific towards the children's parents, relatives or were they more personal rather than generalised questions, were the children questioned regarding schooling which would provide them with an opportunity to talk about their teacher and principal and thus other elders in the village.

Thus both the argument has its own sides of assumptions. Along with which both were performed two decades away which gives us the evidence that when Dr. Field, made his observational conclusions and when recent interview conclusions were made the children were certainly different. Both the studies were made in difference of time, which gives us the possibility in general cultural change in the village. Thus, in order to conclude whether the observational or interview approach is more appropriate the research has to be perforemed on same village and also on same children around the same time. Also as human nature is divergent, there can never be two humans who think exactly same way, thus either conclusion made would still be valid only on the particular village and cannot be just generalised until a very large scale research is performed on variety of villages.