Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium substances essential for building and maintaining bones Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis a disease that is linked to both environmental and

The argument is about the confound dairy product role in the disease named osteoporosis. Osteoporosis, a disease that is linked with environmental and genetic factor and which causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. As we know, milk and dairy products are considered essential for building bones, but a long term study showed people who consumed dairy products had highed bone fracture which is symptomatic of osteoporosis. Hence, it was concluded that dairy products actually increases instead of decreasing the risk of osteoporosis.

The argument is full of holes and assumption. To begin with the center of discussion is about the disease osteoporosis which is linked with environmental and genetic factors. This brings a whole new area to explore as it might be more prominent in humid region or dry region or people belonging to certain height and weight . Environmental and genetical factors are equivocal terms hence, a more definite study on this has to be conducted.

It was stated a long term study has been conducted on large number of people, which doesn't provide us with necessary information such as, what was the duration of study. It doesn't state the age group of people over which it was conducted. There is missing information about the region from where people where choosen for study, was it a place where people were more athletic and sportive which lead them to have bone fractures, or who wanted to learn ballerina which also causes bones to fracture at times. Hence a detailed study taking into account the factors stated above has to be performed.

It is highly possible that people who were choosen for study has genetic disorder which misleaded the entire study by correlating two unknown factors. There might be several other symptoms of osteoporosis which might have a stronger cause and effect relation than bone fracture. Thus, a more detailed research on various symptoms of the disease and which symptom is more prominent and dangerous have to be performed.

By stating the above factors I would like to conclude that an intense statistical study needs to be conducted again by considering age groups of people, diversity of people, other symptoms of the disease and medical history of people choosen for study. Thus, concluding diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis is flawed.