Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

In the passage, anthropologist Dr. Field studied the Tertian culture using observation-centered methods and came to the conclusion that Tertian children are raised by the entire village instead of their biological parents. The anthropologist Dr. Karp uses interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices, and from the fact that children in Tertian village talk more about their biological parent he challenged Dr. Field’s results, stating Tertian children are raised by their biological parents and Dr. Field’s research was invalid. For that reason, some anthropologists conclude to obtain accurate results on Tertian child-raising, future research should use interview-centered methods. Although out of good intention to obtain accurate information, Dr. Field and aforementioned anthropologists do not make a solid argument, and information is needed to further strengthen their conclusions.

First, using interview-centered approach, Dr. Field draws the conclusion that Tertian children are raised by their biological parents simply based on the results that children talk more about their biological parents than other adults. To make a cogent case, Dr. Karp is required to provide evidence that the amount of information given by the children is an accurate indication of who raise the children. Dr. Karp needs to exclude the possibilities that the child may talk about his biological parents more simply because their intimacy, because they spend more time together talking, while other adults all participate in the child-rearing practices. Evidences are also needed to exclude the possibilities that the questions during the interviews are misleading, skewing the children towards talking more about their biological parents. Such information is crucial to convincingly draw the conclusion that Tertian children are actually raised by their biological parents.

Second, with the conclusion drawn from the interview-based research, Dr. Karp challenges Dr. Field’s conclusion, stating that the results of Dr. Field were invalid. To bolster the argument, Dr. Karp needs to assure that the different conclusion in Dr. Field’s research is a result of invalid research, while the child-rearing practices in Tertia remain unchanged overtime. Without such assertions, it is entirely possible that the children in Tertia were indeed raised by all adults in the village 20 years ago, while shifted towards methods involving primarily biological parents in the recent years due to a better economy situation.

Third, assuming Dr. Karp’s research is correct while Dr. Field’s invalid, anthropologists draw the conclusion that interview-centered method is more suitable for research on child-rearing in Tertia, and future research should be conducted via this method. To solidify this argument, anthropologists should assure that interview-centered method is accurate under all circumstances, while observation-centered method is fallacious all the time. Without information proving this, possibilities remain that observation methods can lead to more accurate results under certain situations, like the child is too shy to talk or embarrassed to talk about his or her biological parents who raise the child. Or maybe the child are not willing to talk about his or her parents for they abuse him or her.

In conclusion, the argument in the passage is not well-supported. More evidence is needed to prove the amount of information given by the children is an accurate indication of who raise the children, the different conclusion in Dr. Field’s research is a result of invalid research instead of ever-changing child-rearing practices, and interview-centered method is superior under all circumstances.