Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sur

Emphasizing the importance of a board range of courses, including courses that have little connection with students’ majors, the statement suggests universities require students to a variety of courses outside of students’ field of study. As far as I am concerned, though it is beneficial for students to take a board range of classes outside of their field of study, it can also be a burden, distracting students from learning their own majors. Thus it should be a suggestion rather than a requirement.

It is obvious that learning a wide range of subjects other than only focusing on students’ own field of study can be beneficial, for it enriches their knowledge and broadens their horizon. By learning other courses closely related to their majors, they can consolidate their understanding of knowledge in their field. For example, by taking courses of chemistry, especially organic chemistry, biology students can learn about the mechanisms of chemistry reactions, which is the basis of all biological processes. With these concepts in mind, students can appreciate the biological processes even better, being able to analyze the reaction behind them instead of just memorizing them.

In addition, even courses with little connection with students’ majors can bring about benefits, for they can borrow completely distinct concepts, points of views, and ideas into their own field of study. By analyzing problems from a different point of view, one can easily come to conclusions that no one has ever think of before. In fact quite a few breakthroughs are made when two fields are combined.

However, overemphasizing the importance of wide range of courses by making them a requirement can also be detrimental to students, for it occupies valuable time of students, which they can spend on studying their own majors. Distracting by courses with little connections with their own majors, students may have less available time for reviewing and memorizing what they have learned in courses of their own field of study, let alone putting those knowledge into practice. In order to compensate for the lack of available time, students may sacrifice their time for rest to keep up with the courses of their majors, only to impair their learning efficiency due to sleep-deprivation.

In my opinion, learning courses outside of one’s major can be of benefit for it can broaden one’s horizons and enable new angles of thinking, but can also be catastrophic if it takes up too much time, distracting one from fully focusing on his own field of study. Students should be encouraged to take a variety of courses based on their interests and more importantly, how much spare time they have. In this way the students can prioritize their energy on learning their main field, while absorbing knowledge from other disciplines when time permits. The top students are thus no longer trapped inside their own field of study and have the opportunity to embrace a wider range of knowledge, while the poorer students can pay most of their attention to their majors, learning what is most important for them and prevent being left behind. Universities should not make it a requirement, for it can be a burden on the poor students who already have difficulties finishing their own courses.