Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

The presented argument is flawed for various reasons, primary of them being that Dr. Field's study was conducted about two decades ago. The time during which Dr. Field conducted his research and the time when Dr. Karp interviewed the children definitely differed.

Maybe twenty years ago, when Dr. Field visited Tertia, the child-rearing traditions were such that the child was reared by the whole village. However, during recent times, i.e. when Dr. Karp interviewed the children the child-rearing practices might have changed. In recent times, the biological parents played a significant role in the child's childhood. If the passage had mentioned the recent child-rearing methods in Tertia and whether they changed or not would have strengthened Dr. Karp's claim.

Another fallacy in the argument is that of the territory of research, i.e. Dr. Field had conducted his observations in the island of Tertia while Dr. Karp visited the group of islands which included Tertia. The passage does not give enough evidence of whether Dr. Karp did actually conduct his research in Tertia. The children in the group of islands may differ from the children in Tertia in terms of their upbringing. Maybe the children on the other islands had their parents raising them and not the village, where the children of Tertia differ.

Finally, the passage remains vague when Dr. Karp mentions that the children who were interviewed talked more about their biological parents. The passage fails to show the context in which the children spoke about their biological parents.It could be that the children talked about their biological parents more because the questions were specific towards their parents. The questions which were asked to the children could this obscure idea if they were presented in the passage.

Dr. Karp's argument,which states that interview-based approach is better than observation-based approach to studying cultures hence fails for the above mentioned reasons. Thus, the argument lacks critical details and can be said to be invalid for the above stated reasons.