Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

The entire argument revolves around the notion that Dr. Karp and Dr. Field found different results from different experimentation techniques and Dr. Karp concludes the work of Dr. Field wrong without proper justifications. The argument that Tertian children gave better response to an interview-centered research compared to an observation-centered research is flawed because of numerous reasons, including the sample of children used for the study might have changed during the long span of 20 years.

The children of Tertia interviewed by Dr. Karp had the opportunity to carve out certain words or feelings that gave an impression that they were reared by their biological parents instead of other members of the village. But the case might be that since the children were reared by other villagers, they longed for their biological parents affection. Hence they spoke more about their biological parents.

We can't be sure about the conclusion that Dr. Field draws without knowing what questions were asked and what answers were given by the children. It is possible that majority of the questions in the interview were on their biological parents and maybe only 2 out of 10 questions were on their rearing practices. Since, the questions can skew the conclusion, the argument proposed by Dr. Karp on the invalidity of Dr. Field's research is not justified.

Moreover, how can one believe the answers given by the children in an interview to face value. Occasionally, people during an interview exaggerate their answers to make them palatable or more believable. There is a possibility that the children might have modified their answers to sound good or reasonable to the outside society where children are raised by their biological parents generally. In Dr. Field's work, there was no interview and every movement recorded was intrinsic. Hence, there were less chances of faking an action because everybody is in their natural state, making observation based approach more reliable than interview-centered.

In conclusion, though Dr. Karps work bring out the fact that children do have feelings for their biological parents, the argument that Tertian children are raised by biological parents is flawed. Instead of biasing towards a particular work, anthropologists should conduct both the methods with the same sample of children simultaneously.