"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument at hand indicates that an increase in skateboarding activities has lead to decreasing number of shoppers at Central Plaza. However, this letter is rife with holes that needs to be answered before coming to a conclusion.

Firstly, the letter mentioning the decrease in number of shoppers don't specify the business earnings of the Plaza stores to get an idea of whether the stores were making profits before two years. It might be possible that the stores had started to loose customers because of poor service and the Plaza was getting deserted gradually. Finding a relatively open place to practice, skateboard users started flocking near the Plaza to enjoy. Hence, we can't be sure that prohibiting skateboard activities would bring back the high business levels in the Plaza if the customers are unhappy with the stores themselves.

Moreover, it's an assumption by the Central Plaza owner that the amount of litter throughout the plaza had increased. Although it is possible that vandalism might had increased, yet blaming the skateboard users for littering without sufficient proof is unjustifiable. For instance, one of the reasons that customers stopped visiting the Plaza might be because the store owners stopped disposing their waste at proper locations in the Plaza which resulted in easy littering. Another way of creating such a unpleasant view might be because of the negligence of the workers at the Plaza who didn't clean the place after customers had thrown litters around accidentally. Therefore, pointing at the skateboard users to the only culprit for littering near the Plaza is not a valid argument.

In conclusion, the letter expressing the reason for a decrease in shoppers is because of some people enjoying skateboard in the Plaza lacks sound arguments to back it up. In my opinion, the editor should ask the above mentioned questions to get a better picture of the problem and find solution accordingly.